Press "Enter" to skip to content

Stephen Johnson Pulls Papers for Select Board

Johnson is currently chair of Planning Board

The race for Select Board is now contested after Stephen Johnson pulled papers for the seat being vacated by Jay Kelly, who has announced he will not run for another term.

Johnson will face off against Patrick Holland. Holland is currently a member of the Conservation Commission and the Community Preservation Committee. He was recently part of the host committee for Sal DeFranco, who unsuccessfully challenged Senator Barry Finegold in the 2022 state election.

Johnson is is an attorney with Donovan Hatem LLP specializing in professional liability, insurance defense and coverage, and business and construction litigation. He has served on the Tewksbury Planning Board since 2011 and as chair for six years. We recently interviewed him for our 2023 In Preview series.

There are three races where no one has yet come forward to run.

In addition to a three-year term, the Planning Board has a two-year unexpired term — and if Johnson wins, there will be a third open seat. The Planning Board meets twice a month and is charged with reviewing development applications and ensuring compliance with the town Zoning Bylaw, among other duties. Members regularly visit sites around town to make sure developers are following submitted plans.

There are two seats on the Board of Library Trustees, which works with the Library director to set policies and guidelines, oversees operations and reviews the budget.

One seat is open on the Board of Health, which works with the Director of Public Health, Sanitarian, town animal control officers and other professional staff to set and enforce policies to protect public health. The incumbent, Charles Roux, has not announced if he will seek reelection.

Residents interested in any seat can contact Town Clerk Denise Graffeo for more in-depth information on the positions.

Interested in running?

Nomination papers are now available for all nine seats at the Town Clerk’s office, Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Here’s who’s pulled papers to be on the 2023 ballot. No candidate has yet qualified.
Board of Selectmen (1 Seat) – Patrick Holland, Stephen Johnson
School Committee (1 Seat) – Kaitlyn (Katie) Anderson
Planning Board – 3 Year Term (1 Seat) – Jonathan Ciampa
Planning Board – 2 Year Unexpired Term (1 Seat)
Board of Library Trustees (2 Seats)
Board of Health (1 Seat)
Housing Authority – 2 Year Unexpired Term (1 Seat) – Ryan Lloyd, Jerry Selissen
Moderator (1 Seat) — Dustin T. Weir

The 2023 Annual Town Election will be held on Sat., April 1. The deadline for candidates to file their nomination papers is Friday, Feb. 10, before 5:00 p.m., at the Town Clerk’s Office. You will need signatures from 50 registered Tewksbury voters to get on the ballot.

For more information, visit the town’s Annual Town Election – Running for Public Office page.

Lorna is a U.S. Army veteran and 25-year resident of Tewksbury who has written for organizations ranging from the DIA to InformationWeek to a free weekly in New London that sent her to interview the pastry chef at Foxwoods.


  1. George Ferdinand George Ferdinand January 24, 2023

    the more choices, the better for the voters

Leave a Reply