Press "Enter" to skip to content

Letter: Finegold Thanks Voters, Baker-Polito Administration

I am so grateful to have the opportunity to continue to serve the Merrimack Valley in the State Senate. Thank you to everyone who came out and made your voices heard.

In the months ahead, I look forward to partnering with all of you to make our community an even better place to live, work, and raise a family. I promise that you will always have an open door to express your viewpoints, and no issue is too small to bring to my attention. My staff and I are here to help you. 

Together, I hope we can build on the progress we’ve already made. Earlier this year, I was particularly proud of our work to pass the VOTES Act, which made vote-by-mail permanent and expanded early voting windows. While we still have more work to do to reduce barriers to voter participation, it was encouraging that almost half of all Massachusetts voters took advantage of the new voting options this election. 

Elections mark a time of transition, and for me, this year’s election was somewhat bittersweet. As a result of redistricting, I no longer will have the privilege of representing the city of Lawrence or the town of Dracut, but these communities will always have a special place in my heart. I also want to thank the outgoing Baker-Polito Administration for their leadership and close collaboration over the past eight years, especially in the aftermath of the Columbia Gas crisis. 

Going forward, I’m excited to work with our trailblazing next Governor Maura Healey and Lieutenant Governor Kim Driscoll, as well as with local leaders and residents in Amesbury, Andover, Haverhill, Merrimac, North Andover, Tewksbury, and Wilmington. I feel blessed to serve such an amazing district, and I can’t wait for what comes next. 

State Senator Barry Finegold 

Photo: Finegold, left, joined Rep. Vanna Howard, Rev. Baxter Chism of Tewksbury Congregational Church, Rep. Tram Nguyen and Rep. Dave Robertson to mark the 100-year anniversary of the Church building. Representatives Howard, Nguyen and Robertson also won reelection.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply