Press "Enter" to skip to content

Joint Committee Reverses Course, Keeps Tewksbury Together Under 6th Congressional District

Politico reported this morning that the Special Joint Committee on Re­districting, which is in charge of drawing new maps, has made adjustments to the redistricting plan — including keeping the entire town of Tewksbury in Rep. Seth Moulton’s 6th District.

Initially, the plan was to shift most of Tewksbury into Rep. Lori Trahan’s 3rd District, a move welcomed by some given the affinity of Tewksbury with 3rd District cities and towns such as Andover, Methuen, Lowell and Chelmsford. The course reversal will bring some relief to town clerk Denise Graffeo, who had raised concerns with the state delegation about a number of split pre­cincts causing voter confusion and additional costs to the town.

The changes don’t affect the new three-way split for state legislators. Current senator Barry Finegold retains the entire town of Tewksbury. On the House side, Tewksbury will have three representatives: David Robertson for precincts 2, 4, 6, 8 and the larger portion of 5. Nguyen for the northern end of precinct 5 plus 3 and 7. Vanna Howard will represent Precinct 1.

The redistricting process is expected to be finalized by Dec. 31, at which time the Town Clerk’s Office will mail information to Tewks­bury voters informing them on where they will vote in upcoming elections.

Lorna is a U.S. Army veteran and 25-year resident of Tewksbury who has written for organizations ranging from the DIA to InformationWeek to a free weekly in New London that sent her to interview the pastry chef at Foxwoods.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply